

The Navajo Nation Council - Office of the Speaker

Contact: Joshua Lavar Butler, Communications Director Audie Greybear, Public Information Officer

> Phone: (928) 871-6384 Cell: (928) 255-2946 Fax: (928) 871-7255

joshualavarbutler@navajo.org joshualavarbutler@yahoo.com www.navajonationcouncil.org

April 16, 2008 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Speaker Lawrence T. Morgan announces the spring session agenda

WINDOW ROCK, Ariz. — The Honorable Speaker Lawrence T. Morgan (Iyanbito/Pinedale) is pleased to announce that the 21st Navajo Nation Council will convene for its spring session at 10 a.m. on Monday, April 21 at the historic Navajo Nation Council chambers. The session is scheduled from April 21 through April 25.

During the session, the council will review a number of legislation and take action on these proposals. The council will also receive the state of the nation address from the honorable Joe Shirley, Jr., President of the Navajo Nation.

Upon reviewing and adopting the agenda for the spring session, the council will receive an oral and written report from the Bureau of Indian Affairs Regional Director Omar Bradley.

Written reports will also be received from the Speaker of the Navajo Nation Council, the Chief Justice of the Navajo Nation, the various standing committees, various boards and commissions, and from the Indian Health Services Area Director.

Oral reports will also be given by Dr. Dana Dabelea, Aneva J. Yazzie with Navajo Housing Authority, Apache County Recorder LeNora Y. Johnson, Navajo Resources Enforcement Director Leonard Butler, educational specialist Barbara G. Morgan, Raymond E. Mosley, Jr., and Bruce McAlvain with Independent Power Projects.

Some highlights of the spring session agenda includes Legislation No. 0853-07, which relates to community development and finance. This legislation seeks approval of \$22,304,555 for Navajo capital improvement project shortfalls.

Legislation No. 0145-08 sponsored by Larry Noble (Jeddito/Steamboat/Low Mountain) proposes the establishment of a Division of Diné Veterans Services.

Legislation No. 0190-08 is sponsored by the education committee and proposes to enact the Board of Education Amendments Act of 2008.

Legislation No. 0876-07 is sponsored by Ernest D. Yazzie, Jr. (Baahaali/Church Rock), this legislation relates to education and finance to approve \$500,000 from the Unreserved-Undesignated Fund Balance (UUFB) to the Rehoboth Christian School to assist the financing of their sports and fitness center, as well as their Navajo language and academic support program.

Legislation No. 0096-08 is sponsored by Phil Harrison, Jr. (Red Valley/Cove) and it relates to education, community development, and finance. This legislation seeks approval for \$5,700,000 as a grant from the UUFB to complete phase II construction of a project at Red Valley/Cove High School.

Legislation No. 0031-08 is sponsored by Ernest Yazzie, Jr., David Shondee (Chilchinbeto/Kayenta), and Orlanda Smith-Hodge (Cornfields/Greasewood Springs/Klagetoh/Wide Ruins). This legislation relates to community development and

finance to approve \$505,055 from the UUFB for the Sundance-Rehoboth Community powerline extension project at Churchrock Chapter.

Legislation No. 0013-08 is sponsored by Amos F. Johnson (Black Mesa/Rough Rock/ Forest Lake) and it involves elections. This legislation proposes a change to the chapter name of Rough Rock Chapter to Tse Ch'izhi Chapter.

Legislation No. 0186-08 is sponsored by Speaker Lawrence T. Morgan and it relates to intergovernmental relations to confirm the appointment of Patricia Begay as the director for the Office of Legislative Services.

Legislation No. 0174-08 is sponsored by Speaker Morgan and it relates to intergovernmental relations to approve the plan of operations for the newly established Navajo Nation Human Rights Commission.

To view the entire agenda, a full copy of the 2008 spring session agenda is available online at www.navajonationcouncil.org — click on downloads to access the file.

For more information, contact Joshua Lavar Butler or Audie Greybear with the Office of the Speaker at 928-871-7160.